Tuesday, October 9, 2012

2012 Nobel Prize in Physics

You've probably already heard, but the 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics went to Serge Haroche of Collège de France and Ecole Normale SupĂ©rieure, inParis, France and David J. Wineland of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and University of Colorado Boulder "for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems".  

You can find out more information about the winners and their work at the Nobel Prize website and the AIP webiste.  

We have one book by Haroche on campus, "Exploring the Quantum: Atoms, Cavities, and Photons", and a couple books edited by Wineland.

No comments:

Post a Comment